Brian McLaren Quotes

Sixteen Quotes by: Brian McLaren of Cedar Ridge Community Church

Through its appropriation of "texts of terror" and especially through the application of those texts to the Jews, the Christian religion created the conditions for the oppression of Palestinians.
Plenary talk at a "Friends of Sabeel North America" conference in Portland, Oregon. Dated: April 2014
See also Is this scriptural?

... Because we are rooted in a generous Christian heritage, we are eager to collaborate with people of other faiths, and those seeking the common good. Our networks of dialogue and action thus extend beyond Christian communities to persons of all faiths, as well as to communities that are not themselves faith-based. We welcome allies and allegiances wherever we find common cause. ...
Source here on the Internet. Dated: 28th May 2013.

That in itself is an act of peacemaking, because we're seeking to align our wills with God's will, our dreams with God's dream.
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: The Secret Message of Jesus, p. 161 Published: 1st January 2010.
See also Is this scriptural?

In the tradition of Julian of Norwich and St. Teresa of Avila and all the other mystics, we can learn to render ourselves vulnerable to the “favors of God”—those indescribable experiences that mock our dualisms and so saturate our imagination with abundance that they transcend our ability to convey joy and wonder. In the tradition of St. John of the Cross, we can learn to survive and derive benefits from the soul’s dark night.
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: A New Kind of Christianity p227 Published: 2010.
See also Is this scriptural?

If you hold to a deterministic-dispensationalist [that Jesus is coming again in the flesh] or Zionist theology, I sincerely hope you will rethink your view. I grew up with these views as well, and have become thoroughly convinced that they are not only biblically unfaithful but also, in too many cases, morally and ethically harmful. I know that rethinking these things can make your life more difficult ...
Source here on the Internet. Dated: 16th April 2009.
See also Is this scriptural?

Too many people are suffering with CFS (Christian Fatigue Syndrome). Ruth Haley Barton is herself a CFS survivor, and she shares here [in her book Sacred Rhythms] - in a warm and personal yet lucid and thoughtful writing style - how she has been restored to life's sacred rhythms. My experience mirrors hers, and I will enthusiastically recommend this book widely - both as preventative medicine and as needed therapy.
Source here on the Internet. Dated: February 2006.

This is how I feel when I’m offered a choice between the roads of exclusivism {only confessing Christians go to heaven}, universalism {everyone goes to heaven}, and inclusivism {Christians go to heaven, plus at least some others}. Each road takes you somewhere, to a place with some advantages and disadvantages, but none of them is the road of my missional calling: blessed in this life to be a blessing to everyone on earth.
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: A Generous Orthodoxy McLaren, p.254 Published: 2006.
See also Is this scriptural?

... many Hindus are willing to consider Jesus as a legitimate manifestation of the divine... many Buddhists see Jesus as one of humanity’s most enlightened people.... A shared reappraisal of Jesus’ message could provide a unique space or common ground for urgently needed religious dialogue—and it doesn’t seem an exaggeration to say that the future of our planet may depend on such dialogue. This reappraisal of Jesus’ message may be the only project capable of saving a number of religions.
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: The Secret Message of Jesus: Uncovering the Truth that could change everything Published: 2006.
See also Is this scriptural?

The Christian faith, I am proposing, should become (in the name of Jesus Christ) a welcome friend to other religions of the world, not a threat
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: A Generous Orthodoxy p.254 Published: 2006.
See also Is this scriptural?

The church has been preoccupied with the question, “What happens to your soul after you die?” As if the reason for Jesus coming can be summed up in, “Jesus is trying to help get more souls into heaven, as opposed to hell, after they die.” I just think a fair reading of the Gospels blows that out of the water. I don’t think that the entire message and life of Jesus can be boiled down to that bottom line.
Sourced from an article: PBS Special on the Emerging Church (Religion and Ethics Weekly, by . Dated: 15th July 2005
See also Is this scriptural?

{Asked at a conference last spring what he thought about gay marriage, Brian McLaren replied} "You know what, the thing that breaks my heart is that there's no way I can answer it without hurting someone on either side."
http://www.time.com/time/covers/1101050207/photoessay/17.html. Dated: 2nd May 2004

Perhaps our ‘inward-turned, individual-salvation-oriented, un-adapted Christianity' is a colossal and tragic misunderstanding, and perhaps we need to listen again for the true song of salvation, which is ‘good news to all creation.' So perhaps it's best to suspend what, if anything, you ‘know' about what it means to call Jesus ‘Savior' and to give the matter of salvation some fresh attention. Let's start simply. In the Bible, save means ‘rescue' or ‘heal'. It emphatically does not mean ‘save from hell' or ‘give eternal life after death,' as many preachers seem to imply in sermon after sermon. Rather its meaning varies from passage to passage, but in general, in any context, save means ‘get out of trouble.' The trouble could be sickness, war, political intrigue, oppression, poverty, imprisonment, or any kind of danger or evil.
Book: by Brian McLaren entitled: A Generous Orthodoxy, p93 Published: 2004.
See also Is this scriptural?

I tried to read The Dubliners, when I went to Dublin a couple of years ago. I think I only go thurogh the first story. Gnomon is such an interesting word. So many different uses for a word nooone has heard of, or uses these days. I googled some pictures of sundials to check that it was the tall shadow casting bit (it is) and then discovered that Saint Sulpice in Paris has a rather fascinating large gnomon- which I shall endeavour to see on my next visit to that fair city. Thanks for such a great word, which I shall try to remember.
Sourced from an article: The Emergent Mystique, Christianity Today by Ayman. Dated: 2004
See also Is this scriptural?

Steve Chalke's new book could help save Jesus from Christianity.
Book: by Steve Chalke entitled: The Lost Message of Jesus Published: 2003.
See also Is this scriptural?

The Bible is not considered an accurate, absolute, authoritative, or authoritarian source but a book to be experienced and one experience can be as valid as any other can. Experience, dialogue, feelings, and conversations are equated with Scripture while certitude, authority, and doctrine are to be eschewed! No doctrines are to be absolute and truth or doctrine must be considered only with personal experiences, traditions, historical leaders, etc. The Bible is not an answer book.
Book: by Brian, McLaren entitled: A New Kind of Christianity, p. 52 Published: 2001.
See also Is this scriptural?

This is one of the huge problems with the traditional understanding of hell, because if the Cross is in line with Jesus' teaching, then I won't say the only and I certainly won't say ... or even the primary or a primary meaning of the Cross ... is that the Kingdom of God doesn't come like the kingdoms of this world by inflicting violence and coercing people. But that the kingdom of God comes through suffering and willing voluntary sacrifice right? But in an ironic way the doctrine of hell basically says no, that's not really true. At the end God gets his way through coercion and violence and intimidation and uh domination just like every other kingdom does. The Cross isn't the center then, the Cross is almost a distraction and false advertising for God.

{Comment: Since the cross is not central for Brian Mclaren then one can only surmise that he is not a truly born again Christian believer. The central plank of Christianity is that wrath of God for the sin of each believer was placed upon Jesus on the cross, otherwise you do not have Christianity. So why is he invited to Christian Churches and conferences? and why is he considered someone that can offer Christians anything?}
Source here on the Internet. Dated: no date given.
See also Is this scriptural?

Please note: Quotes are displayed in reverse date order. Undated quotes are listed last.

Home page Index of Articles